Topography in Vito

52 rolls

Sometimes lately, it has been hard to know whether the boundary between the topography of my inner and outer worlds has become blurred or brought into sharp relief. Has visual imagery become an allegory of my own experience?

Nov 2013 Vito Superia400 TetanalC41 6

In the last six months I have had ultra-sounds, CT scans, PET scans, MRI scans, x-rays, blood tests and biopsies. My body has been mapped from head to toe. The moments of contemplation and stillness I have found in photography have been pierced by storms of emotion, fear and disquietude.

Nov 2013 Vito Superia400 TetanalC41 9

Not once, but twice I have learned that I have had cancer. It is unsettling. For my family and I, it has been difficult preparing for the worst, but always hoping for the best.

Nov 2013 Vito Superia400 TetanalC41 10

Since July I have had four major operations, and been in hospital five times.

Nov 2013 Vito Superia400 TetanalC41 11

In July a large lump was removed from my right leg. The pathology results…

View original post 607 more words

One thought on “Topography in Vito

Leave a Reply

